The Boom is Back in Boom Cards for Free Users

More information from Boom™: No limits on Presentation Mode for free users, so there will be no forced watermarks! I got an email directly from Boom today. Here is part of what it said:

“Presentation Mode will have a basic option – similar to today’s Preview at no charge. Optional data collection at the end of a session will be available to paid subscribers only.

We have no plans to limit how often Presentation Mode is launched, so long as there are no signs of the same abuses we saw with Fast Pins. If there are abuses, we will place limits to align usage to the license terms – use by a single therapist or teacher.”

This is great news! This means free users won’t have to use limited fast pins or limited Presentation Mode uses.   When they roll out this update we won’t have to use fast pins. Boom Cards in Presentation Mode will work similar to how we are using them now in Preview Mode except paid users will get the option of downloading data. Boom has listened to their users! I look forward to continuing to purchase cards and using them as a free user. I might even eventually get a subscription to try the data collection feature, with the knowledge that if I go back to being a free user, I don’t have to worry about watermarks.  

The last few weeks have been intense.  I truly appreciate all the support I have gotten from other Boom Card users, particularly the outpouring from other speech-language pathologists in Facebook.  We were able to join together and make a difference. Thanks for all your help!

I started blogging again to not just talk about Boom Cards. 🙂 Even though I will likely do a follow up post after the new features are rolled out in Boom Cards, I look forward to moving on and discussing other things. This summer I plan on updating my Bell Curve Bar Graph (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1UWlPEbC7kQpwb236W39LY_YYlIf9Eyn471VYxOZn3vI/template/preview)  to show the standard error of measurement instead of a bar.  I also plan to update my  Contact & Schedule + Ultra (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1e5C577jValCeNm8A60ILsq547zzYetLhZ3o302h7u44/template/preview)  and File Review (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1zVpKCXojF8sUj4_Otss5N3rfMT-dG_09VaFFR8zl5OE/template/preview) spreadsheets. I am finishing up development of a Google Sheet flashcard system that will show stimuli and collect data. This should be very useful for any educator.  Along with all the files I hope to share other tips and ideas I find as I finish up my second ASHA ACE (70 continuing education hours in 3 years). Subscribe to the blog if you are interested in getting emails.

Here are links to my previous blog posts on this topic:

First: https://rwslp.wordpress.com/2024/05/20/big-perhaps-not-so-good-changes-are-coming-to-boom-cards/

Second:  https://rwslp.wordpress.com/2024/05/24/squashing-the-boom-out-of-boom-cards/

Third: https://rwslp.wordpress.com/2024/05/31/watermarks-are-still-coming-to-boom-cards-but-free-users-will-have-access-to-a-limited-number-of-fast-pins-without-watermarks/

Leave a comment