Big, Perhaps Not So Good, Changes are Coming to Boom Cards

One of the few tools I use almost every week as an educator is about to change and perhaps not in a good way.  Boomlearning.com™ aka “Boom™ Cards” is planning on changing the way teachers view/present their cards. In their May 12th “Important Product Update” email, they announced that “Presentation Mode was going to be replacing Preview”. The email goes on to state free accounts will only be given 10 presentation mode uses. 

I emailed them asking for an explanation and got the following information:  

Presentation mode will be similar to a Preview in function, but the teacher will be able to download the reports after the play session has ended.

​It is aimed at users who work through decks with their class or a student on other students’ or classes’ behalf, such as for SLPs.

​The Preview mode will still be available for teachers to see the deck to see if they want to use it/assign it, but it will have large watermarks.”

Based on the information, if you are using a free account (like most SLPs) you will be able to use 10 Presentation Mode uses (probably ever, not per month), then you will be stuck with large watermarks on every presentation you are sharing from your teacher login. I find this very frustrating! I am soon going to be forced with a watermark on all the decks. I have spent a lot of money on Boom Cards, and didn’t expect them to force watermarks on all my cards. 

I replied to the email expressing my concerns about this. If you would like to express your concerns email: help@boomlearning.com or call 833-969-2666.

To see my second post about this go here: https://rwslp.wordpress.com/2024/05/24/squashing-the-boom-out-of-boom-cards/