Android Battery Saver Apps

     GreenPower Premium  JuiceDefender - Battery Saver
Name Easy Battery Saver GreenPower Juice Defender – Battery Saver
Marketplace Google Play Google Play; Amazon Appstore Google Play; Amazon Appstore (not with Fire)
Price Free Free/$2.90 Free (Paid Version not Tested)
MB 1.7 2.4 1.8
Operating System 2.0 or higher 2.1 or higher 2.1 or higher
SD Card Yes Yes Yes
My Rating 3/5 4/5 3/5

Is your android phone or tablet dying in the middle of a therapy session or do you have to keep it plugged in all the time?  I would recommend trying a battery saver app. With a good app and the right setting, I have nearly doubled my the battery life of my phone and tablet from a little over 1 day to 2 days.  There are a lot to choose from but a lot of apps that just display battery information show up while searching.  Some don’t work well; one  says it is a battery saver but appears to just collects your search data.  Battery Saver [2x Battery] says it’s a placebo and doesn’t boost battery life in it’s description, but has almost 5 stars with over 12,000 reviews.  Many of the reviews say it improves battery life!

There are some that actually do improve battery life by helping you control your data, wifi, display etc.  I used Easy Battery Saver for about a year. It worked well but the ads got very annoying. They got so bothersome I had to uninstall it. I tried a few others.  A major feature, I wanted was quick access to turn on/off my data of my 2.3 Android phone.  Easy Battery Saver data toggle worked well on my phone.  Juice Defender’s data toggle did not work on my phone.  Juice Defender worked ok on my Tablet, but I wasn’t impressed enough to try a paid version of it.  My battery life was a little better than without it, but not as much as I hoped.

Last month I switched to GreenPower Premium after trying the free version.  It has worked well on both my tablet and phone, but has taken some time to tweak to my desired settings.  The data/wifi toggle works well. After getting the setting adjusted, both my tablet and phone now can last about 2 days.  GreenPower also works on the Kindle Fire.  I have noticed a significant increase in data usage with GreenPower (in comparison to Easy Battery Saver).  I am guessing that this is because GreenPower is allowing my phone to check my emails with much greater frequency.    If you don’t mind paying for an app,  I recommend GreenPower Premium. If you want a free app try Easy Battery Saver, but you have been warned of the ads!

Leave a Reply

